Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Signe Agerholm Clausen receives DMF's master thesis award 2014

29 May 2015 Signe Agerholm Clausen receives Danish Mathematical Society's award for best master thesis in 2014. The prize is in the amount of DKK 15,000 and sponsored by Edlund A/S.

2015.05.12 | Christine Dilling

As part of the ceremony at Aarhus University, May 29 2015 the award winner Signe Agerhom Clausen will present some of her main results from her thesis, "Coinvariant rings and Demazure operators". Her supervisor Henning Haahr Andersen from QGM will illustrate how these Demazure operators have led to surprising applications in recent breakthroughs in representation theory.

The review committee concluded that
Signe Agerholm Clausen's thesis is an excellent contribution to an important topic in algebra. She has studied Demazure operators on covariant rings for Coxeter groups with special emphasis on the case of symmetric groups. Here she has obtained non-trivial generalisations by showing how one may pass from covariant rings over the reals to the corresponding rings over the integers. The thesis is extremely well-written and the basic theory behind her results is thoroughly and clearly explained.

The Prize award ceremony is in Aud. D1 29 May 2015 at 16:15.


  • Welcome by DMF's president Bjarne Toft and chairman of the review committee Vagn Lundsgaard Hansen
  • Seminar by Signe Agerholm Clausen and her supervisor Henning Haahr Andersen (QGM) regarding Ms. Clausens thesis and it's topic, "Coinvariant rings and Demazure operators"
  • Reception outside Auditorium D1 (17:15-18:30)

  The prize is sponsored by: Edlund A/S

Contact persons
Bjarne Toft (DMF)
Henning Haahr Andersen (QGM)