Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Conference: Hitchin 70 (Aarhus)

A celebration of Nigel Hitchin's 70th birthday in honour of his contributions to mathematics

2015.11.24 | Christine Dilling

Date Mon 05 Sep Thu 08 Sep
Time 07:00    16:00
Location QGM, Aarhus University


Event main site (external webpage)

Group picture, Hitchin 70 Aarhus 5-8 Sept


In celebration of Nigel Hitchin's 70th birthday and in honour of his contributions to mathematics, a group of his former students and his colleague Frances Kirwan, in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute, are organising a conference which will run during the period 5-16 September 2016. It will begin in Aarhus, continue in Oxford and end in Madrid. The three components of the conference are:

As the event takes place at three different locations (Aarhus, Oxford & Madrid), there are three different websites, from where you can register and read more about each individual event. You can register for one, two or all three events, but you have to do it through the three individual webpages.

This webpage is for the Aarhus part of the triple event.

Confirmed speakers in Aarhus
Christian Bär (University of Potsdam)
David Calderbank (University of Bath) 
Vladimir Fock (IRMA, University of Strasbourg)  
Laura Frederickson (Standford University)
Paul Gauduchon (École Polytechnique, Paris) 
Sergei Gukov (Caltech)
Tamás Hausel (EPFL, Lausanne)
Lisa Jeffrey (University of Toronto)
Qiongling Li (Aarhus University) 
Thomas Bruun Madsen (Aarhus University)
Sergei Merkulov (University of Luxembourg)
Du Pei (Aarhus University)
Jörg Teschner (DESY, University of Hamburg)
Misha Verbitsky (Higher School of Economics, Moscow)


Special dinner Wednesday 7 Sep (optional): DKK 475 (includes welcome drink, 3 course meal, wine/beer/soda & coffee): Dinner registration


Andersen, Jørgen Ellegaard (Aarhus University)
Andersen, Henning Haahr (Aarhus University)
Bailey, Michael (University of Utrecht) 
Belletti, Giulio (Scuola Normale Superior)
Belgun, Florin (IMAR)
Borówka, Aleksandra (Jagiellonian Uniwersity in Krakow)
Branco, Lukas (University of Oxford)
Bökstedt, Marcel (Aarhus University)
Christensen, Jan (Aarhus University)
Conti, Diego (Università di Milano Bicocca)
Dancer, Andrew (University of Oxford)
Freibert, Marco (University of Kiel)
Garcia-Fernandez, Mario (ICMAT)
Goertsches, Oliver (Philipp University of Marburg)
Hitchin, Nigel (University of Oxford)
Huang, Yang (Aarhus University)
Jizany, Ali (University of Buckingham)
Koyanagi, Yuki (Aarhus University)
Logares, Marina (University of Oxford)
Loos, Louis (UPMC)
Lorgat, Raeez (MIT)
Macia, Oscar (University of Valencia)
Malusa, Alessandro (Aarhus University)
Nawata, Satoshi (Aarhus University)
Neusser, Katharina (Charles University, Prague)
Niemimäki, Ossi (University of Helsinki)
Ostoic, Antonio Rivero (Aarhus University, Department of Economics)
Petersen, Henrik (SDU)
Petersen, William (Aarhus University)
Pym, Brent (University of Oxford)
Rasmussen, Kenneth (Aarhus University)
Rembado, Gabriele (QGM/Université de Paris Sud)
Romao, Nuno (Augsburg University)
Skovbakke, Andreas (Aarhus University)
Spotti, Cristiano (Aarhus University)
Swann, Andrew (Aarhus University)
Ørsted, Sebastian (Aarhus University)

Included in the event

  • Morning and afternoon coffee/tea
  • Lunches during the event
  • Social dinner (first night)

Financial support
As this event has limited resources only in special cases, QGM is able to offer support for accommodation to junior researchers (PhD students and postdocs). Only applications received before 24 July 2016 will be considered.

The supported accommodation is pre-booked as shared rooms at the Aarhus University Guest House. If you wish to book a room yourself e.g. through airbnb, QGM pays maximum up to DKK 250 pr. night. 

After the deadline of 24 July 2016, we will consider all applications and let you know the status of your application.

Organisers (Aarhus part)

Jørgen Ellegaard Andersen
Henrik Pedersen 
Andrew Swann

This event is organised in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute.

Further sponsors
Carlsberg fondet
London Mathematical Society
The Danish National Research Foundation
Symmetries and correspondences
Excelencia Severo Ochoa

Video recordings of the conference talks